happy 50th, ctbuh!

The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitats is celebrating fifty years this week in Chicago–appropriately enough–with its annual international meeting. This Thursday, they’re hosting a debate on “First Skyscrapers” at the Chicago Architecture Center. I’ll be one of a dozen or so historians and critics discussing the long history of “firsts.” Anyone who’s seen me talk about my research knows that I’ll be putting forward one example in particular that I think deserves more love and attention than it’s received from historians in the past.

In honor of the celebrations, the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians has put a collection of recent skyscraper scholarship online–very happy to have a couple of articles in this group.

Much more to report on later this week–hoping to see many architecturefarm regulars there and to continue a debate that “is unanswerable but worth having” in distinguished surroundings…